National Awards...


Wolf-Fenton AwardThe Wolf-Fenton Award is the most prestigious award of the Holly Society. It was first established in 1982 as the C.R. Wolf Award to honor HSA founder Clarence R. Wolf, who not only was instrumental in organizing the Holly Society but also did much to nurture and sustain the fledgling organization through its crucial years. Charter member Daniel Fenton was its first recipient for his meritorious service and contributions to the Society and to holly culture. Upon his death in 1988, the award was renamed for these two great men who meant so much to the Society.

The Wolf-Fenton Award is given to an individual, not necessarily a member of the Society and not confined to the United States, for outstanding contributions and dedicated service in the field of holly. As the premier award of the Society and because of the high degree of achievement it recognizes, the Wolf-Fenton Award is not presented every year.




The William F. Kosar Award is given in memory of the pioneer holly breeder and devoted Holly Society member William F. Kosar, who died in 1985. Gene K. Eisenbeiss was its first recipient for his work in continuing the Holly Research and Hybridization Program established by Mr. Kosar at the National Arboretum as well as his own holly research.
The William F. Kosar Award is given to an outstanding plantsman for contributions to the hybridization, evaluation, selection, or introduction of hollies.




The Shiu-ying Hu Award was established in 1992 to honor Dr. Shiu-ying Hu of Harvard University for her lifetime study of the taxonomy of the genus Ilex and her position as American author and authority on the hollies of China and the far east. Dr. Hu was the first recipient of the award.

The Shiu-ying Hu Award is given to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the knowledge of the genus Ilex through scholarly study and research, and who have disseminated this knowledge through teaching or publication in the Holly Society Journal or other technical or scientific media.




The President's Award is given at the discretion of the President to an individual or individuals for outstanding service and dedication to the Holly Society of America.



Best in Show for the Amateur Division

Annual Sprig Contest

Wilson T. Mott Award given by the Long Island Chapter for the Best Evergreen Sprig in the Amateur Division

Stewart McLean Award for the Best in Show for the Professional Division







Holly Society of Americca

Site Map  |  Contact

Top of Page